top of page

Everything You Need to Know About The NCAA DIII Football Championship Tournament

The road to the 2023 National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) DIII football championship starts this weekend. 32 teams are ready to fight for the championship title. 

Photo Courtesy of

Tournament Breakdown

Photo Courtesy of

The championship tournament consists of 32 teams; 28 of those teams won their conference which gave them an automatic bid to the tournament. The other five teams received an at-large bid. 

The Amos Alonzo Stagg Bowl, the national championship game, is set for December 15, 2023, at Salem Stadium in Salem, Virginia. This is the first year back in Salem since 2017. 

The schedule for the tournament is as follows

  • First Round: Saturday, November 18th

  • Second Round: Saturday, November 25th

  • Quarterfinals: Saturday, December 2nd

  • Semifinals: Saturday, December 9th

  • Championship Game: Friday, December 15th

First Round Team Match-Ups

Here are the first-round match-ups. All games take place on November 18th with various kick-off times ranging from noon  ET to 3 pm ET. 

Noon ET Kick-off

  • Alfred State at Mount Union

  • DePauw at Alma

  • Cortland at Endicott

  • Grove City at Susquehanna

  • Western Connecticut State at Johns Hopkins

  • Union (NY) at Delaware Valley

  • Ithaca at Springfield

  • Christopher Newport at Randolph-Macon

1 pm ET Kick-off

  • Minnesota-Morris at Wisconsin-La Crosse

  • Bethel (MN) at Wisconsin-Whitewater

  • Belhaven at North Central (IL)

  • Coe at Aurora

  • Hardin-Simmons at Trinity (TX)

  • Illinois College at Wartburg

  • Mount St. Joseph at Wheaton (IL)

3 pm ET Kick-off 

  • Chapman at Whitworth

Past Results 

Photo Courtesy of

The reigning champion of this tournament is North Central College, a private college in Naperville, IL. 

North Central has played in the last three Stagg Bowls; winning against UW-Whitewater in 2019, losing to Mary Hardin-Baylor in 2021, and winning last year in 2022 against Mount Union. The 2020 Stagg Bowl was canceled due to Covid-19. 

In the past 12 years, only four different teams have won this tournament; North Central (2), Mary Hardin-Baylor (3), Mount Union (3), and UW-Whitewater (4). Will one of these teams add another recent championship title or will we see a new team rise to the top? 

15 views0 comments


bottom of page